On A Hot Summer Day

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset
Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

Summer is a time where everybody hits the beach, catch up with friends and hang out until dawn. I love summer because I have time for my own and work on my body. I promised myself to be a bit more healthy and productive.

Last Sunday, I wanted to do something different than just relax and let time fly by. I wanted to take pictures and go to a new place. Unfortunately, I ate a really big breakfast and I was still full at 11:30. Still, that didn’t stop me from having a treat! I headed to Calle Loíza, aka food heaven!

My boyfriend and I were walking down Calle Loíza and the heat was getting very intense. There was not one cloud in the sky, it was absolutely beautiful. But, the heat was too much. My body was craving for something more than just water. I was craving for a smoothie so we went to Café Tresbé!

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

I was super thirsty so my eyes headed straight to the smoothie menu. Not gonna lie, I was tempted to eat something (they serve breakfast and lunch #blessed) but I was craving a smoothie. If you haven’t gone to Café Tresbé, it’s an outdoor food place resembling somewhat a foodtruck but it’s a cooler version of it. It is mainly known for their big bright yellow wagon. The ambient is really nice and welcoming that it was just irresistible for me not to enter.

Okay, time to tell you what I ordered.. At first, I was between picking Açaí Tresbé, Dragon Fruit or Go Green. I was much inclined for the green smoothies but I was craving fruity stuff. Oh, decisions, decisions…And then, they told me that they just ran out of açaí and pitaya for the smoothies. Looks like fate wanted me to stick with my greens.

Processed with VSCO with c7 presetA lot of people are somewhat intimidated by green smoothies but little do they know that they are THE best smoothies. You can barely taste the greens in a green smoothie. And they are not bitter at all.

This smoothie, Go Green, has:

  • spinach
  • banana
  • coconut water
  • agave (it’s a liquid natural sweetener)

When I took the first sip it took me by surprise that it literally tasted like coconut water only thicker because of the banana. Coconut water has a LOT of electrolytes which helps hydrate your body in a hot weather like ours. This smoothie is insanely good to beat the heat and it’s also nutritious.

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

My boyfriend went with a smoothie SUPER fruity and tangy. Not gonna lie, it looked so freaking good! He picked the Very Berry which contains: Mixed Berries and Lime juice.

The good thing about this smoothie is that it’s packed with a HUGE amount of antioxidants. I took a sip and what I loved about it, is that you could feel the texture of the berries tingling in your mouth. It had that crunch of the seeds as when you eat a raspberry or a strawberry. That’s how you know it is 100% all natural. No sugar added! Perfect for vegans and non-vegan gals.

 

I couldn’t pick a better place to “darme el gusto” and stay hydrated. Next time, I will DEFINITELY give the food a try! The whole place smelled so G O O D! Their food is affordable and budget friendly which is great for people who don’t want to spend more than $12 dollars on a meal. Go ahead, treat yourself! On a hot summer day, these smoothies hit the spot. We are happy customers. Remember, ALWAYS support your locals and treat your body right. Until next time!

-A

One thought on “On A Hot Summer Day

Responder

